The Beginning of a New Journey

I am as convinced as ever that God has a sense of humor.  As a United Methodist minister, I am in covenant with our Bishop to itinerate, or to go where I am sent.  But I never expected to get a phone call during the first week of October.  Never.  But it happened, and we will be leaving GCUMC and moving to FaithBridge UMC in Blowing Rock beginning January 1.  That announcement can be found here. As you can imagine, our lives are sort of upside down right now as there are a lot of details that we are having to trust God to work out.  Such as selling our house in Greensboro, finding a decent place to live in Watauga County, Jenny having to leave her job in High Point, leaving behind our community that we love dearly and transplanting our family to a new community.  All by January 1.

Yet as easy as it would be to get caught up and stressed out over these details, we find ourselves experiencing not anxiety but peace.  I think it is because we are sensing God’s presence.  Or maybe God’s humor.  Or perhaps both.

A little over a month ago Jenny and I prayed that God would remove some roadblocks in our lives that were causing us to not feel as close to God as we had before.  We knew that God wanted us to trust Him more, so we prayed that.  The whole time thinking that if God answered our prayer, it would be through small changes we needed to make.  But that’s not how God works.  God is not a small-timer.  God has a sense of humor.  And a month later the phone rang.

When I read the Bible, I see normal (or often less-than-normal) people stepping out in faith to go where God has called them to go.  Often times, like for Isaiah or Abraham,  they don’t know the details of what that is going to look like.  They only know the way of obedience.  Jenny and I don’t know what our future at FaithBridge is going to look like, or how all of the details are going to get worked out in this transition, but we know the way of obedience.  So we are stepping out in faith, laughing with God as we go where He has called us to go.

[I explained some of this in more detail in a sermon from October 14, which can be found here once it gets uploaded.]

About Parson Carson

I am a husband, father, United Methodist pastor, Wolfpack fan, and outdoor enthusiast who loves meeting new people and hearing their stories... All while trying my best to love God and love others!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Beginning of a New Journey

  1. Excited for you guys, Ben. Really.

  2. I hear ya bro! I feel this is a season for the body of believers to step out, and have their faith expanded, as we trust God to fill in the unexpected and unforeseen “growth oppurtunities” that are laid before us. Whether we understand it or not, I pray we be like Job, and press on and through with Christ Jesus. Actually, I see that it’s not so much a pressing, but, rather a “gliding” as we trust God in this season of growth and excelleration. May God continue to bless all you put your hands to as you and yours expand the kingdom of God in your, and others lives. All honor, glory, and praise be to the Lord of Lord’s and King of King’s, Jesus! I love you and look forward to hearing of God’s love through you and your family. :~)

  3. Cathy Reed says:

    I have read this with much interest and a sense of excitement. I am a member of Faithbridge and we will be welcoming you in January. Your comments have echoed those of Marianne who is leaving us to serve in Charlotte. Seeing your comments and those of others who are going through the same thing we are going through helps to provide a link to join us together in this time of transition…we are not alone. I like the idea of “gliding”. My name is Cathy and I think that meeting Parson Carson and his family in January is going to be a wonderful thing.

  4. jan c vanhoy says:

    Ben, by chance I was in Boone yesterday with a friend taking her daughter back to App. One of the many places I love is the Mustard Seed plant store which is beside Aho Rd, off 321, where your new church is located. We went there and it is absolutely lovely. You, Jenny and Malichi will so love the location and I am sure the people of the church. There was almost a sense of God’s presence and such tranquility! We all love you and your family, but we also know the great things that God has in store for you and your faith walk! Bless you as you and your family step out in pure faith! Oh the blessings you will receive!

  5. Susan Keever says:

    Ben, I know that you and Jenny love Greensboro and will really miss your friends, but I think you will LOVE Blowing Rock(granted,maybe not having to move in January). It is ABSOLUTELY beautiful there! Hope that after you get settled,you can get together with Joseph and Julie.

  6. Elizabeth says:

    Ben,you and Jenny will be a blessing where ever God sends you. With your and Go’s sense of humor nothing is impossible.

  7. ann.l.duncan@gmail.com says:

    Wow this is great Ben! I know you are excited and overwhelmed all at the same time! I will be praying for you, Jenny, and Malachi. I am glad we have our new small group so we can get to know each other better and be supportive of one another in our ministries. Looking forward to seeing you soon! Remember to take deep breaths :)

  8. Nancy Carson says:

    I’m so proud of you and Jenny. God has great plans for you and I admire your ability to discern His will for your life. I’m also excited that God has allowed me to be a part of your journey and to stand on Holy ground with you. It was no accident that I was with you when you received that call and then to witness your faith and trust in God as you accept that call. I love you and my prayers for you and your precious family continue. I can’t wait to see what God has planned for you at FaithBridge.

Leave a Reply

